Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
My life in Shanghai
My life in Shanghai
Publicité
My life in Shanghai
Derniers commentaires
19 avril 2006

Inside Taxi (again..)

Last time I talked about Taxi, but no inside pictures. Now I got some.
Here is from passenger back seat's view. Each taxi is equiped with this plastic dock.
To separate the driver and passengers...
To show the address , to pay or to give something to driver,
we just have to go through a small space above the dock..

image005ddre

Here comes the meter and the taxi driver's ID number. Each driver has star(s). More stars means something special, for example a taxi who can speak other language than Chinese get more stars, or who know ..That's what I heard. It's like the more stars he has, the better he is than the others..
Well, I can't justify...but I just think most of them drive with the same manner...that means ...
...you'd better fasten your seatbelt and hold on tight!!

image007ddre_copy

Some tips (by the way, no need to tip taxi driver in China, nobody does so) :

Useful Taxi language

<--         Zuo Guai (pronounced "juow gway")     = Turn Left
-->         You Guai (pronounced "yoh gway")      = Turn Right
|             Yi zhi zou (Pronounced "ee djeuh joh") = Go straight
U             Diao Tou (pronounced "teaow toh")     = Make a U-turn
(!)          Ting !                                             = Stop

Qian Mian (pronounced "shian mian")   = In front / ahead

Zhe li    (pronounced "djer lee")          = Here

Na li  (pronounced "naah lee")              = There

(tricks with Chinese tones, Na li can means "where" or "there" depends on how one pronounces.. but I think taxi driver will certainly understand what you mean..)

  
One more phrase that can save your life if he goes too fast :
"Man Yi dian" or just "Man man!!" (Means "slow down!")

Last but not least, always ask for "fa piao" (the receipt)..

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
T
I have been visiting various blogs for my term paper research. I have found your blog to quite useful. Keep updating your blog with valuable information...Regards
G
I can recommend one thing to do before coming to Shanghai and that is to go online at http://www.alacartemaps.com and purchase the "My Shanghai A La Carte Map". I have lived in Shanghai for nearly 4 years and this is the best guide I have found. You also get an access code to a larger online database so you can devise your own travel itineraries and send e-postcards.
H
Hello, thanks for this interesting post !<br /> <br /> Helen,<br /> <br /> www.zongdo.com<br /> <br /> Asian Dating, Shanghai Dating, Hong Kong Dating and Classifieds
Publicité